Day Three: Firsts

napo2017button1

Hello everyone!

I’ve been thinking, and I’m going to try to do the daily prompts off of the NaPo Facebook group as well as the official ones. It’ll be a good challenge, and honestly, any practise I can get is probably for the best. Plus, having at least three things due each day will trip up my mad procrastination skills which is always a plus. You can probably expect four poems today as I catch up.

 

(Prompt: Firsts)

 

 

The first films I saw in theatres

Were about the power of narrative,

Children running from bullies or neglect or incarceration

To end up in books.

To be fair, I was born on the tail-end of fantasy land,

As dark and terrifying and gorgeous as it was;

Seeped in the worst nightmares that might be permitted

Without scarring children irreparably.

The frame I carry with me

From story to story,

Is a shot of a wall of glass,

Golden-hued and warm,

That sheltered shelves upon shelves

Of heads,

So that at any time

The woman who had stolen them away

Might change into someone entirely new.

 

Leave a Reply

